top of page

But My Serve, She Has to be Ready


If you had any confusion about the kind of blog we run here, it is most definitely a Coco Gauff stan account. One thing I love to see is someone coming into their own and being unapologetic in the process. Growth is such a messy and ugly process for so much of the time; learning to be graceful in it is hard. But when it happens, because I believe in everyone achieving it, it is cosmic. You can feel yourself practically vibrating in the universe. Be it music or food or sports, whatever area you excel in deserves to be cultivated by you and for you. Cue the skilled, the beautiful, and the amazing Coco Gauff. In the first round of the US Open, which I normally don’t watch, she stood ten toes down in creating the very environment she knew she deserved. In doing so, she set THE tone for how she deserved to be treated and showed others just how it’s done. Let me explain.

On Monday, August 28th, a match commenced between two hopefuls. On one side of the court, the incredible and honorable Coco Gauff took to her 1st round matchup of the US Open. On the other side, a human embodiment of white privilege, Laura Siegemund. The match began relatively normally, I say that having only watched a few during my tennis era. What followed, though, is the poorest sportsmanship I have seen in any game in a long time. While Gauff was trying to play the game of tennis, it seems Siegemund was looking to pick cherries on the back of the court. She violated multiple rules throughout the game, including one of not sitting down during the first changeover of a set (had to look it up). None were nearly as prevalent as the serve clock heard round the world. After three separate instances of taking entirely too long to serve, she was only penalized once by the official. Quick aside, the official and I do also have beef because why does the crowd have to gather you to do your job. Answers, quickly! None? Then a refund for her salary is demanded. Now! Anyway, after finally calling for a time violation, the look of utter satisfaction that emerged across Coco and Brad’s face was priceless. You could visibly see the shift in Coco as she could catch a breath for just a moment. I say only for a moment because in the next set, she had to directly address the official for blatantly allowing Laura to disrespect the rules but also her time. I won’t go into too much detail because I couldn’t do it justice. But the most important thing she said, she finished off the interaction with: “I don’t care what she does on her serve, but my serve, she has to be ready. And there lies the message: My time has value and my presence deserves the respect earned, so get with it.

Now, let me tell you, watching the game back, there are two things I know for certain. Firstly, she played the hell out of that game; I mean, it was just incredible, and she still didn’t think she did her best. Secondly, although she shouldn’t have to, she advocated for herself magnificently. Watching Coco, she was being more than fair to her opponent and the official calling the game. Even her team pushed for her to speak up, but unfortunately, we all know how easy it is to be labeled as the angry black girl in instances like this. And though this was not one of those occasions, luckily, it goes to show how much we have to deal with in every area of life. When confronted with Siegemund violating her time on the serve, Gauff finally said enough is enough. Much like many before her, reaching her breaking point was the push needed to speak up and advocate for fair calls. And why? Why wait to get through so much of the game? Why not say anything earlier? Truth be told, I cannot tell you why exactly, but I can tell you what myself and many other black women have experienced. The fear of retaliation, the shame of being stereotyped, the vulnerability of advocating for ourselves. There is a long list of reasons that we all have swallowed our words in an attempt to keep peace or ignore ignorance. And it is not fair that we feel as if we have to. But here’s the beauty in this story, CoCo spoke up. She stated the facts and shared her truth and did so under the pressure of so many people watching. Whether she knows it or not, she has set a beautiful example of how to speak up. Though she’s not the first (shout out to Venus and Serena Williams, Billie Jean King, Naomi Osaka, and so many more), she is still a reminder of how we all deserve to feel supported and heard when we speak up for ourselves.

I know how often we can be demonized for speaking up for ourselves. And despite the parade of white tears held by the party of one, Laura Siegemund, it needs to be clearly stated that she did, in fact, break several rules and showed very poor sportsmanship. The bottom line is that black women should feel safe enough to stand up for themselves even though we shouldn’t always have to. And Coco is young, still in her teens, and learning to use her voice in ways many adults still don't know how to. As she continues to grow and become an even better woman and athlete, this lesson will carry her through the challenges she will come to face. But it also is now a living example for women and girls alike. Your voice matters, it is important, and it deserves to be heard. Whatever pressure may come, you can handle it. And when the task seems too great, also surround yourself with people who will both advocate for you and push you to do so for yourself. Alright, y’all, I think it is time for me to get caught up on my tennis; I got to make sure to keep up on my girl’s game!


Recent Posts

See All

Grieving with Depression

I am not really sure what I'm doing right now. Something told me to open the computer and let everything pour out, but in truth, I am...

Comments


IMG_2469_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I appreciate you taking time time to read what I have to say. And if you want to read more. Click Below!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page