top of page

Let Her Cook


It has been an absolutely “SHENOMENAL” week for Black Women. Chloe Bailey dropped her tiny desk (exquisite), Coco Gauff won the U.S. Open (youngest since Serena Williams in 1999), and The Queen Beyonce celebrated her birthday while on the U.S. leg of her Renaissance world tour (hey Virgos). On weeks like this, I find the drive to keep going toward my own dreams. I won’t lie and say it hasn’t been hard but it does get more and more fulfilling the longer I stick with it. It's a humbling experience. And the amount of growth and artistry I have seen in the last week is such pure creation. Creation of music, of entertainment, and of destiny. Recognizing the blood, sweat, and tears that went into every moment, I cannot help but pull inspiration from moments like this. Through the ups and downs of their careers, which have been chiseled out of the marble, comes the foundation that dreamers build their hopes on. Though it is not an overnight process, it can be a bit discouraging watching others dominate a space while you are trying to get back up on your own two feet. Getting knocked down, or in my case toppling over, can have a profound effect on a person’s ability to charge forward into the life they always wanted. This is a good time to remember the 3 p’s: persistence, perseverance, and patience. Without a little time and diligence, not one of the women above could have achieved their goals. Let me explain.

When I hurt my knee, I was dancing and cleaning around my kitchen to the Renaissance album. I know, I know, I should be triggered by it but honestly my love for Beyonce can heal all. Watching friends and strangers alike cherish their time spent in the presence of Queen Bey warmed my heart in such a difficult time. I mean the stories, the challenges, the looks. There is not a single artist alive that can compete with what she has brought to life. And to think, a Houston born, young girl of humble beginnings with talent pouring out of her ears has turned the world on its head for more than 3 decades now. With the greatness she produces and displays, I can only begin to imagine the time that has been invested into building up the one and only. I mean so many artists have been inspired by her and she continues to create spaces that are safe for fans from every walk of life. Then you look to the people she mentors, like Chloe Bailey. A young woman with so much drive and hunger to create music that connects us all. She has demonstrated time and again how her talent has been shaped and molded into a tool of absolute beauty. She has continued to develop into entirely new realms and carry such love and light into her work. Since being discovered in 2012, she has spent the last decade soaring to new heights. To see the direct impact of one generation on another is truly encouraging. It is one of the many things I find so important to pursue passions and a vocation. To have role models that show you just how much time it really takes to achieve the goals you want in life. When so many people are trying to sell you “get rich quick” schemes in a bottle, it is nice to remember that the truth is everything takes time. Years and decades can go by without so much as a recognition for your work and then boom! In a moment's notice it can all change. There are people that have been pursuing music, entrepreneurship, pottery, beauty, influencerships, and so much more just praying for a chance to live the life they have always seen for themselves. I am included in that group, and as I keep working, the dreams I have are only fortified by the new dimensions I see the people around me conquer. But why? Why would knowing that thing you want most is going to take time and dedication and consistency make you feel good?

Simple: it tells me that there's always a chance. There’s no special time table I missed or formula I need that has to be followed to achieve success. Sure it can be scary knowing just how uncertain life is but nothing was guaranteed in the first place. Now, even without the guarantee, I can still pursue the things that bring me joy and make the sacrifices that make me better at what I love. With all the snake oil salesmen out there pandering a finite solution to all my problems, it feels good to know it isn’t a problem. I am quite frankly finding my way. It is just a part of the journey I am on. Although it can at times be frustrating or scary, this doesn't change the fact that I feel better and more excited than I have in a long time. Stepping into the light of a life I know I will work for. As much as motivation and passion can ignite your desires, the true testament are those above mentioned 3 p’s. Being persistent keeps you practicing over and over and over until you cannot get something wrong, not just until you get it right. Perseverance is building the will to keep going even in the face of difficulty. Setting your mind to your desires and locking in on them like the jaw of a pit bull (which are also friendly and beautiful dogs). And then there’s patience, the hardest of culprits to pin down. Many have been defeated by it in their time. The elusive skill is one that is meant to remind us of how all good things take time, like a garden or a meal. I say all that to say this: if you feel at all like you are too little too late, you're not. Sometimes the best food for the soul takes a bit longer to cook. You know what you do then?

Let. Her. Cook. Don’t rush. Don’t quit. Don’t give up on you. I know the feeling of doing so and can’t express enough how much I regret it. From choosing the wrong major to going to a school I didn't love to working a job that suits me ill. There are so many instances where I look back and think “if only I’d given myself the chance”. And now here I am giving things a go again. And guess what? This time me and life are squaring up, and I won’t blink. Learning from my mistakes. Building myself back up. Creating a safe space for myself to dream again. I refuse to let go of all that I know I can and will be. And if just one person can read this and find some solace in these words, I will be more than happy with that. So remember all good things take time, and with a bit of luck and a lot of hard work you may just be able to take all those good things and turn them into something great. Take a breath honey, we are in this for the long game.


Recent Posts

See All

Grieving with Depression

I am not really sure what I'm doing right now. Something told me to open the computer and let everything pour out, but in truth, I am...

Comments


IMG_2469_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I appreciate you taking time time to read what I have to say. And if you want to read more. Click Below!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page