top of page

Starting fresh: 10 Rules for an Old Friend

***Re-post from June 1, 2019

sea waves GIF

The 10 Rules

***(original) Author’s Note: there is little to no punctuation because this is a steady stream of thought. When I wrote this almost a year ago, it was passionate and raw and emotional. And, really, it still is. I wasn’t looking for some kind of well executed, ‘woe is me’ piece. I needed catharsis and to send a message: the people that care about you, still care. Love and care and kindness for a person don’t ever truly go away, even when we really really really wish they could. So, embrace them and move through it all. You’re going to be okay and if you need a friend or confidant, I’m out here roughin’ it in the world too, so reach out.

I’ve spent a majority of the summer trying to figure out how I wanted to write this letter and then it finally hit me: this letter isn't about me it’s about you and I need to be completely honest so here goes-

Hi my name is temple and I just recently celebrated my 19th birthday what sucks is that I celebrated it without one of my best friends in the world but I knew something that she didn’t I knew no matter how far apart or how strained our communication I would always be there for her with as much love and compassion and consideration and open mindedness I could afford to give there is nothing in this world that would ever be strong enough to destroy that even when I don’t agree or I’m upset I know that most importantly that is never failing.

I asked for a decision and received one and because of that I am not looking for or pining for some sort of reconsideration I only ask that you remember these things number one you are always cared about and cherished so never let anyone tell you otherwise number two if you truly need someone don’t be afraid to pick up the phone and call or text number three you are the only version of yourself this world will ever have so treat yourself as best as you can even if that means you can’t treat others the same way Number four you are your own best friend so if you’re fighting with yourself make sure to reconcile if you can’t do that alone then ask for help number five your body is a temple and deserves to be treated with respect so anyone who can’t treat you the way that you deserve does not deserve to be with you number six you are more powerful you are stronger and you are smarter than you will give yourself credit for so remember that in your tough and struggles number seven life gets tough but you can get tougher number eight people coming go but family is forever so take it easy on them even when they don’t know how to take it easy on you number nine go for what you want when you want it and consider the consequences before doing so number ten I love you and that will never change no matter where the wind takes you how far or how long do remember you always have a true friend in myself hopefully these 10 rules are up for consideration in your eyes and and can be used for the rest of your life time I hope you remembered to be happy and remember to love yourself more than I or anyone else could ever love you The world is nothing but endless opportunities. So enjoy it. Best wishes, Temple



Get Inspired

Thank you for reading another post! Your support is so important to me! Although this is a place for me to speak out it is also a space to offer everyone a way to grow and share. As always, make sure to check back in for new content and follow me on all social media!



Recent Posts

See All

Grieving with Depression

I am not really sure what I'm doing right now. Something told me to open the computer and let everything pour out, but in truth, I am...

Comments


IMG_2469_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I appreciate you taking time time to read what I have to say. And if you want to read more. Click Below!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page